top of page

The Winey Foodie's "Wine of the Week"

My Wine of the Week is: Biondi-Santi's 2007 Brunello di Montalcino Annata

During my trip to Italy this summer, I ended up in Tuscany for a few days with my friend's family. They have a home and small farm property near a small town called Mont'Amiata. It is about 45 minutes from the famous wine city of Montalcino. We had the amazing pleasure of visiting her friends at the Biondi-Santi winery just outside the city. I knew then that I absolutely loved a nicely aged Brunello, but I had no idea how much I would fall in love with this particular one. I think the history of this place itself is what hooked me. Biondi-Santi is basically the birthplace of Brunello.

The three wines we tasted were the 2010 Rosso di Montalcino, the 2007 Brunello di Montalcino Annata, and a new venture for Biondi-Santi from a new vineyard, the 2010 Sassoalloro made with new world techniques and stainless steel instead of the traditional Italian winemaking methods seen below. My favorite was the Annata and I purchased a bottle to bring home with me and age for the next 3-5 years at least! Although it was ready to drink then and delicious as is, Brunellos only get better with age (like most men).

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Clean
  • Twitter Clean
  • Instagram Clean
  • RSS Clean
bottom of page